NCWIT Aspirations Award


Calling all digital divas, web chix & coder girls!

The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing honors young women at the high-school level for their computing-related achievements and interests. Awardees are selected for their computing and IT aptitude, leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education. The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing offers both a national and local "affiliate" competitions to generate support and visibility for women's participation in communities nationwide.

Applications are accepted from September 15 - October 31 each year. Award recipients are notified in early December and award events take place around the country December through May. To apply, girls must register online. Click here to begin registration. You can register anytime and will be notified when applications open.

The Award for Aspirations in Computing is open to all high school girls residing in the US and you may re-apply each year. You may only receive the National award once. 

The Great Plains Girls Collaborative is the local affiliate serving both North and South Dakota.  This year, we have 8 award winners and 1 educator award winner!  These winners traveled to Sioux Falls, SD for their award event held on Thursday, March 21st at the Washinton Pavilion where they received an award package which included a $500 scholarship to North Dakota State College of Science!


2013 Award Winners

North Dakota:

Casondra Rutschke - Zeeland High School, Zeeland, ND

Kiley Schuster - Magic City Campus High School, Minot, ND

Allison Inman - West Fargo High School, West Fargo, ND

South Dakota:

Kari Huber - Highmore High School, Highmore, SD

Logan Kludt, Watertown High School, Watertown, SD

Sara Welch - Tea High School, Tea, SD

Amanda Smeenk - Harrisburg High School, Harrisburg, SD

Andrea Harvey - West Central High School, Hartford, SD

2013 Educator Award:

Holly Erickson - West Fargo STEM Center, West Fargo, ND

This award is sponsored by: