2017 Computer Science Education Week: NGCP Schedule of Activities

Public event
Date: 
Monday, December 4, 2017 - 8:00am - Sunday, December 10, 2017 - 5:00pm
Time Zone: 
Pacific
Location: 
NA
NA, WA NA
United States

Computer Science Education Week December 5-11, 2016

Please join NGCP in celebrating Computer Science Education Week (CSEdWeek) by engaging in the following activities listed below:

Day

Activity

Monday, December 4

Participate in the Computer Science Outreach Program Evaluation Network (CS OPEN) webinar 11:00AM Pacific (2:00PM Eastern).

Encourage a girl to create her own Google Logo.

Tuesday, December 5

 

Watch the webinar: ‘Building Bridges: How to Partner Across In-School and Out-of-School’.

Visit The Connectory to register your computer science programs and add opportunities. The Getting Started Guide makes it easy.

Wednesday, December 6 

Read the NGCP Blog post by Karen Brennan, lead for ScratchEd and Harvard Associate Professor of Education.

Try Scratch, MIT’s free educational programming language, for yourself. 

Thursday, December 7

 

Participate in the #CSequity Twitter Chat with ECEP, NCWIT, and the NGCP at 4:00PM Pacific/7:00PM Eastern.

Discover broadening participation in computing resources from NCWIT and the Expanding Computing Education Pathways (ECEP) Alliance. 

Friday, December 8

 

Meet women with experience in computer science who serve as role models and mentors in the FabFems online database.

Share Google’s ‘Made with Code’ with one girl.

Please use #NGCPCSEdWeek17 for any social media posting you do!

We encourage you to celebrate and spotlight, throughout the week, how girls are being served by computer science (CS) programs in our NGCP Collaborative Network.

Event contact
First Name: 
Erin
Last Name: 
Hogeboom